“It’s here…the iPhone5..yay!!”, I announced while working (and surfing) at 2am in the night when the news regarding the Apple’s most anticipated launch had started pouring in. And to my utter shock, as soon as the magic words ‘the iPhone5’ landed in my husband’s ears, who was fast asleep till such time (he just loves his sleep!!), he literally sprung up from his slumber and just snatched the laptop away from me (on which I was patiently appreciating the latest beauty which Apple had recently bequeathed to the world). So much for chivalry! He was drooling at the latest offering from the Apple’s cart. “What do you think?”  I asked. “It’s stunning.” He replied and for the next half hour or so I was subjected to my husband’s unrelenting praise for the new iPhone and at the same time wondering where all of a sudden his sleep went. So strange that a man who would never sacrifice his sleep for my romantic  yearnings, was wide awake in the middle of the night, all pumped up for a mere phone, his fascination for  technology  and most importantly for Apple has always intrigued me. Personally, I was skeptical about the admiration my husband was showering on iPhone5. I had my reservations (which I would amplify eventually). I was actually wondering, whether I am the only person who thinks iPhone5 is a mere upgrade.  Though it is a looker but I feel Apple could have delivered better, at least in terms of technology. I was hoping or rather expecting it to bring a kind of revolution in the Smart Phone world. And let me assure that the reason for my skepticism is valid. Fortunately, just after its announcement, I had got my hands on Nokia Lumia 920 for a review (courtesy my profession-tech journalist) and I can safely say that  iPhone5 has a worthy competitor. Let me elaborate. Looks The Windows 8 wonder, Nokia Lumia 920 looks bright and fresh. It comes in solid colors (my favorite is yellow) and has solid one-piece polycarbonate body with rounded edges. Some of you might say that its looks are borrowed from Lumia 800 but it is still more striking and fun than the stylish aluminum and glass body of the iPhone5. Screen size I am an admirer of big screens and Nokia Lumia 920’s 4.5 inch screen with a resolution of 1280×768 (roughly speaking, that’s a 16:10 aspect ratio) is worthy of an applaud. Lumia has 332ppi pixel density and sports an IPS AMOLED screen with an anti-glare filter which lends Lumia exceptional clarity. On the other hand iPhone5 ‘s 4 inch screen with a 1136 x 640 resolution( 16:9 aspect ratio) and a pixel density of 326ppi (still less clear than Nokia Lumia)  is a disappointment for me. Weight Here I would say iPhone 5 wins. If I am at the liberty to exaggerate then I would say that the iPhone5, weighing just 112 g is as light as a feather whereas Nokia Lumia 920 weighing 180gm is a bulky phone. Know more about Apple’s Llghtning cable here: https://techthirsty.com/2012/09/26/3378/ Processor The Lumia 920 runs on Windows Phone 8 and has a 1.5GHz dual-core Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 chip, backed by 1GB of RAM where as iPhone5 runs on A6 chip (still very little is known about it as Apple has kept the specification under wraps, though I guess that it would be a dual  core chip). What more is left to see is how fast the apps would load or the games would run on iPhone5 as compared to Nokia Lumia 920 ( I think for which I have to wait till September 21) Software Nokia Lumia 920 runs on  Windows Phone 8 but as the OS has still not been released I cannot say much about it but yes it has been speculated that Windows 8 would allow third party developers. As far as iPhone5 goes it runs on iOS6 which is a breeze to use. iOS6 has a neat Twitter and Facebook integration and the new Map app is superb. Capacity I like having loads of stuff on my phone from movies to books to sitcoms and Lumia  (16 or 32 GB) with its plus 7GB free with a Microsoft SkyDrive account satiates my need completely where as iPhone5 comes in  16, 32 and 64GB variants without the possibility of adding more memory to it. Camera A good camera is what enhances the smart phone experience and Nokia Lumia does full justice to it. The Lumia 920 with its 8.7Mp sensor and optical, rather than electronic, stabilization easily challenges the iPhone 5’s 8Mp camera which undoubtedly has an impressive back-illuminated sensor and precision-engineered lens, plus the stabilization and new panorama features. Nokia has also gone an extra mile to add features to the 920’s camera app – including augmented reality with its so-called City Lens. Wifi It is here where Lumia 920 loses, it merely supports 2.4GHz where as the iPhone 5 have dual-band 802.11n Wi-Fi (it works on 2.4 and 5GHz). All in all  if tomorrow my husband is generous enough to ask me which phone would I want as my anniversary gift I would really be in a fix, though the iphone5 is the apple of our eyes but with the Lumia 920 ( I have high hopes from Windows 8) Nokia sure has made a comeback!  Also see this to find out about the durability of iPhone5 : https://techthirsty.com/2012/09/22/iphone5-the-most-durable-and-repair-friendly-smart-phone-ever/    

iPhone5 vs Nokia Lumia 920  I Am In A Fix - 26iPhone5 vs Nokia Lumia 920  I Am In A Fix - 51iPhone5 vs Nokia Lumia 920  I Am In A Fix - 64iPhone5 vs Nokia Lumia 920  I Am In A Fix - 90iPhone5 vs Nokia Lumia 920  I Am In A Fix - 64